Sewing mends the soul….

Standard
So I was browsing google and pintrest for quotes when I was thinking up ideas for my mum to call herself when she makes things and I thought quotes might help with a tag line, well I got distracted when I started seeing these….
  • Sewing mends the soul.  ~Author Unknown
  • Buttons and patches and the cold wind blowin,The days pass quickly when I am sewing.
  • Stitch your stress away.  ~Author Unknown 
  • When life throws you scraps, make a quilt.  ~Author Unknown
  • Quilters never cut corners.  ~Author Unknown
  • I’m in therapy and sewing is cheaper than a psychiatrist.  ~Author Unknown
  • Love is the thread that binds us.  ~Author Unknown
  • Our lives are like quilts – bits and pieces, joy and sorrow, stitched with love.  ~Author Unknown
And they rung true to me … And I know from my forage into social media like pintrest and twitter that a lot of people use sewing, crafts, art or anything creative to help soothe them, as a stress relief or as I call it for myself therapy! And it got me thinking… Or analysing… Why is it that it helps.. I can only comment for myself but these were some of my findings…
It is a release …. Almost a timeout from the stress of life
It is escapism … Diving into the pool of creativity and escaping from the hum drum of life to create something beautiful
It deals with the (as my dear friend calls it) twitches …. It satisfies the urge to be doing something keeps the hands busy.
Provides a modicum of achievement …. even if it is a tiny glimmer… however bad your feeling by seeing the results, by seeing that you have finished something makes you feel Little better even if only slightly and even if just for a short time
My brain goes into overdrive sometimes with a mixture of life and inspiration, and by using the inspiration and ideas I feel calmer and I feel proud of myself for what I have created.
It stops you over thinking other stuff it’s difficult to think of anything else when you are sewing or creating it takes concentration to make a masterpiece…..
In recent months I have astounded myself with the things I have created and humbled by comments I have received on them because I doubt my creativity and have been trying new things that I didn’t know I could do!!! And that sense of achievement is lacking in other compartments of my life.
These quotes will be incorporated into some future designs as it seems sewing etc helps a lot of people deal with life’s trials and everyone needs a little motto right? I certainly need little quotes of inspiration or mottos to keep me on the straight and narrow!,
So today’s favourite is When life throws you scraps, make a quilt… And life is certainly throwing scraps at the moment!  So let’s go make a quilt ……

One response »

Leave a comment